Current Trends in Woman’s Lit

 

Came across this jewel of a picture parodying ‘Fifty Shades of Gray’. At first I laughed, and then I frowned. Not because I believe that the person commenting is wrong- at the contrary, I’m wholeheartedly behind this person’s sentiment. But it’s disconcerting to me to see this trend in current popular books for women that glorify abuse, both mental and physical, to a ridiculous degree. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying that BDSM is intrinsically abusive. I have friends in the lifestyle, and they are healthy individuals. But even they will say that the action portrayed in the Fifty Shades Trilogy is sickening and rather goes against the strict safety codes of a true BDSM lifestyle.

 

So, ladies, why do we do this to ourselves? Why do we revel in something that- when examined- would in real life have us calling the cops? I was in an abusive relationship for four years, and I am incapable of reading things like this without shuddering and having horrible flashbacks. I could barely get through Twilight because of that. And yet, women around me are soaking it up as if it was the Gospel.  Does anyone else see this trend? Do you have support for it? Do you think I’m wrong? Let’s discuss!

Leave a Reply

