It Begins: The Edits!

It seems like 2016 is going by in such a blur- I finish one set of tasks, only to realize that I’m about a month behind on the next ones and then I remember a totally different thing that I was supposed to do. I sure hope it begins to slow down a bit, or I’m going to have to finagle a bunch in order to truly savor some of the bigger moments this year. Like the release of The Thing About Apples happening in early July. At this point, that puts me less than two months away from having three novels published. Isn’t that crazy?

And so begins the buckling down towards the release. This past week I received the suggested edits from the wonderful people over at eLectio, and have been working on them over the weekend. I’ve got to tell you- I’m so grateful for the editors over there. I always feel like I’ve made something so precious when I hand in a final manuscript. But when they tear it to pieces, I realize that I could always push myself more. That it can always get better. And that’s what I want, book by book: to become a better writer, to be able to provide better stories that mean more to my readers each time. I really couldn’t do that without the help of eLectio, and all of the beta readers who took The Thing About Apples apart in the earlier drafting stages. They are just as responsible for the novel as I am, honestly, and I would have never gotten this far without them.

So today’s post is dedicated to gratitude: gratitude for all of the people who help me realize my dream and may never get recognized for it. For my parents, who supported me. For my fiance, who loves me even when I get into my crazy-stages of preparing the next novel. For my WeBook community and beta readers who help me shape the drafts past the messy draft stages, and for eLectio for believing in me and taking me to the next steps. I can’t wait to see what you guys think of this next installment!

Leave a Reply

